Wk 12 – Art Activity – Ethnography

IMG_1083

  1. What did you think the experience would be like?
    • I had actually did this sort of activity in high school, it was called ” A Day of Solidarity”. That being said, it was how I expected it to be, quiet and possibly productive.
  2. Was it “easy” or “hard”?
    • I would say that it wasn’t easy or hard, just something right in the middle. Of course, technology and electricity plays a huge role in our every day. It wasn’t hard because I’m not on my phone or laptop that often, and when I am it’s usually because I’m watching an episode or listening to music. However it wasn’t easy because it felt like the day was going much slower and a lot quieter.
  3. “Frustrating” or “Liberating”?
    • Between the two, I would say it was liberating. I personally am not a techy person and don’t even post anything on social media that often, so it wasn’t frustrating in that sense.
  4. Did you get better sleep? Are you usually sleep deprived? What would it be like to sleep well every night?
    • I am almost always sleep deprived… so this was a great opportunity to turn off any alarms and sleep in and take more naps throughout the day. If I could sleep well every night, I definitely would have more energy.
  5. How is living without electricity more organic or harmonious with nature?
    • I feel that it’s more harmonious with nature in that we can let our body’s rest and wake up naturally rather than force ourselves to stay up of wake up even earlier than what’s comfortable.
  6. How is living without electricity more limited? Is it boring?
    • It is limited in that the sun is only out for so long, so light and warmth is limited. Personally, I didn’t find it boring. I thought it was actually productive. I was able to get so many things within the time I would be watching a show.
  7. How do you think people survived without constant stimulation?
    • I feel that people survived simply because it wasn’t a necessity to have constant stimulation of electricity and technology.
  8. What would be your ideal level of life activity and connectivity?
    • At this very moment the level or activity and connectivity with electricity in my life seems close to ideal. I just think it depends on the person and what is going on in their lives in that moment. For example, I did a social media detox for about a month last summer to get away from constant reminders of certain people and events. It was definitely healthy and relieving!  Also, growing up I was always independent and didn’t rely too much on technology and interaction with the web. With that being said, in my current situation, it seems as if I can’t afford to be spending more time on social media because of the energy I need to put towards studying, school, and work. As for interaction with people there’s of course only a hand full of people I would  need or really want around.
Leave a Reply

